Spider-Man: Homecoming (SPOILERS)

y89lkua78c5gzijsn0ul

I have always been a fan of Spider-Man ever since the Toby Maguire movie in 2002. Yes I did have a Spider-Man costume that I used to wear around the house. I also remember playing the computer game version of the film on our old pc, which I was obsessed with. So when I heard they were making another Spider-Man film I was torn, one part of me loves the character and the other part is fed up of Sony changing the actor every 5 minutes. Nevertheless this film isn’t like its predecessors, it doesn’t have uncle Ben’s death or the green goblin which I was happy about.

Since Tom Holland is the same age as me (21) I think he works well in capturing Spider-Man’s youth and naivety a lot better than Maguire especially. Garfield had more of the cheekiness that Spider-Man has however Holland captures it the best hands down.

Homecoming brought in a large audience from children to adults and I think this film resonates with different age categories in different ways. Kids are going to love the action and the humour. Teenagers are able to relate to Peter Parker’s frustration with rules and the control adults have over his life. Whereas adults can see all points of view, whether that’s the innuendos, understanding that Peter isn’t always right and also sympathising with the villain.

I love Michael Keaton as an actor anyway so when I saw that he was in this franchise I was very happy to see such a great actor being involved within this project. I think he plays the Vulture very well and brings depth to the character. Keaton is very good at being expressive with his face even when he isn’t talking and that works amazingly in those more tense scenes.

The film did begin in an unusual way with showing us why the Vulture became who he was by showing us him 8 years before this film, when the first avengers film happened. I think this made me very confused about the timeline of the events within the marvel universe.

On another negative note, I liked the nod to a lot of 80s films within Spider-Man however I didn’t like the fact that they had to include a clip from Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, whilst they were recreating a scene from it. It was very self explanatory to us adults who have seen it, so that was slightly off putting.

With Spider-Man: Homecoming this film was more about Peter Parker being a teenager and dealing with the troubles of being a high school student, which isn’t what it looked like from the trailer, it looked more action packed. I feel like this gave him more of a humble grounding and relatable to a lot of audience members rather than just being a super hero which is less relatable.

Overall, I thought the film had a predictable plot as I could read where the characters were going to go next. However the one thing that even caught me off guard was the twist! The twist was that Keaton’s character was the dad of Parker’s date for the homecoming dance. Both myself and the rest of the audience gasped when it was revealed it was him which then made the whole scene so awkward that most people were laughing. I sat there with my hands on my face cringing and laughing at the same time for the next two scenes. This was a good plot point that helped to create tension amongst the characters. When watching this section I knew it reminded me of something I had seen before and it was the scene in Crazy, Stupid, Love where Steve Carell is revealed to be Emma Stone’s dad. This showed that this film was more like a rom-com with scenes such as this ,with action intertwined.

I did feel quite emotional when Peter was stuck under the boulders and was crying as he thought he couldn’t lift the weight above him however it was all about self belief in order for him to get out and I felt for him during this moment.

After seeing this film I can conclude that my favourite spiderman in the marvel cinematic universe, from best to worst, is:
– Tom Holland
– Andrew Garfield
– Tobey Maguire

If you are a fan of Spider-Man go and see it. If you are a fan of the Marvel Cinematic Universe go and see it. If you want to see a film where the protagonist goes through a journey and has fun along the way, go and see it.

Rating: 7/10

Leave a Reply

